In need of speaker advice. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : In need of speaker advice.

Walker
06-10-2004, 09:41 AM
I'm planning to buy new speakers (only for music) and I was considering the B&W's 603 s2. I now have the B&W's 601i witch I love but they have a very small sweet spot. The 603 reviews tell me that these speakers have a small sweet spot as well, and that they need a lot of space behind them and placement is very critical.
Basically I have no experience with speakers other than B&W's (except for a terrible JBL experiment) and I'm looking for some easy on the ear but detailed and open, supple sounding speakers that are not as critical (placement wise) as B&W's (in the 603 price range)

Thank you for your advice,
Walker

nusiclover
06-10-2004, 12:22 PM
603's are like $900 right? you have many many options at this price. i would strongly recommened you try to find dynaudio audience 52 or von schweikert vr-1, both around this price range. they are bookshelves and this makes for easier placement. these speakers are very easy on the ear and provide wide open sound stages and clear supple sound. they are both, imho, better than anything in the b&w 600 line. for what you seem to be looking for, i would definitely consider auditioning these two great speakers. they will actually give you as much bass as the 603, believe it or not, even though they are bookshelf size. i dont know where you live, but dynaudio is easy to find, von schweikert is a bit harder. btw, considering that dynaudio needs a strong amp, what components are you using?

nusiclover
06-10-2004, 12:31 PM