In need of speaker advice. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : In need of speaker advice.

Walker
06-10-2004, 09:05 AM
I'm planning to buy new speakers (only for music) and I was considering the B&W's 603 s2. I now have the B&W's 601i witch I love but they have a very small sweet spot. The 603 reviews tell me that these speakers have a small sweet spot as well, that they need a lot of space behind them and placement is very critical.
Basically I have no experience with speakers other than B&W's (except for a terrible JBL experiment) and I'm looking for some easy on the ear but good, supple sounding speakers that are not as critical (placement wise) as B&W's (in the 603 price range)

Thank you for your advice,
Walker

topspeed
06-10-2004, 01:07 PM
Well, you can certainly do worse than the 603's, especially if you already enjoy B&W's house sound. It's a great speaker, no doubt about it. If you are looking for something with superb off-axis response, I've not heard anything that approaches the non-directivity (is that a word?) of Von Schwiekert's VR series. The VR1 falls into the same price class as the 603's and is a truly astonishing speaker. When auditioning against the 602s3, JM Lab Chorus S, and Paradigm 20v3 among others, there was simply no comparison. You can literally get up and walk around and still hear phenomenal sound. According to Kevin at VSA, this ability to fill a room was a design goal and made possible by Albert's patented "GAIN" crossover, a feature that he installed on the Eggleston Works Andra II to great effect. Of course, it could also be marketing mumbo-jumbo :).

Give them a listen and decide for yourself. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. FWIW, I own both B&W and VSA products so I'm not biased either way.

Good luck and buy what moves you.

http://vonschweikert.com

Walker
06-10-2004, 02:37 PM
Thanks for the advice, I'm going to check them out.