Dolby Pro Logic or not, for CD's? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dolby Pro Logic or not, for CD's?

tncn
06-07-2004, 03:21 PM
I have an older Kenwood reveiver with only Dolby Pro-Logic. Would I be likely to get better sound out of my CDs by listening to them in pro logic mode or direct with only the left and right channels?

Thank you

N. Abstentia
06-07-2004, 06:13 PM
Personally, I hate all 'fake' DSP modes including Pro Logic. I prefer my stereo in stereo, the way it was meant to be. But that's just me, you'll have to try it and see if you like it.

tncn
06-07-2004, 06:39 PM
thanks for the reply, do the music CDs have the ability to work right on pro-logic, were the voice only will come out of the center speaker, or os that only for movies, and cd's are strictly stereo only. Sorry for the dumb questions, I am new to this and am trying to get a handle on it.

Thanks

N. Abstentia
06-07-2004, 07:24 PM
Well the problem with Pro Logic 'working right' is that there is really no 'right' to it becasue Pro Logic is just a matrixed surround system. It tries to 'make up' what's not there, in this case there is no discrete center or surrounds so it just takes the 2 channel and tries to guess at what should be in the center and surrounds. So no, you won't just just the vocals out of the center channel.

The same applies for movies, as Pro Logic uses the 2.0 track to derive at it's matrixed surround. Pro Logic II does much much better, but still nothing near Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS.

kelsci
06-07-2004, 07:46 PM
I would also try DOLBY 3 LOGIC if your receiver has this function and test it against two channel stereo mode of your receiver. In my case on my JVC 718 DPL receiver, it works better than stereo only because the receiver just does not handle stereo with proper sound and imaging quality and appears to work better than the full PRO-LOGIC mode.

mtrycraft
06-07-2004, 09:26 PM