Wooch et al... My First SPL Readings [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Wooch et al... My First SPL Readings

the hand of boredom
06-06-2004, 07:28 PM
My mummy had sent me some cash for my birthday last week. Took a trip down to the local Rat Shack and picked me up one of 'em SPL devices. I came home, downloaded since waves ranging from 14 Hz to 120 Hz from snapbug.ws.

I have the mains (Studio/40v2) set to LARGE on my SR 4300. The LFE is sent to the X30 crossover and split to the two Servo 15s. The crossover is set very near 70 Hz. The listening room is set up in a basement with carpet over a concrete floor (no sub-floor) with three exterior walls (front, left wall, and back wall). The ceiling is 8 ft, with acoustic ceiling panels. Front-to-back wall distance is 18ft, the room is 14ft across the back half, and 16 ft across the front, with a walk-way that is open to the rest of the house.

Now I'm no expert, but I think that something is drasticly wrong with my audio environment. As the sines go from 20 to 35 Hz, the SPL increase sharply from 84db to 99db. The levels dip steadily to 68db as we near 70 Hz, with a peak centred around 55 Hz reaching 81db. Once past 70 Hz, the levels rise to 82db near 80 Hz and hover in the mid 80s to 90 Hz. Between 90 and 120 Hz, the levels rise and fall between 70 and 80 Hz.

Are the lowest frequencies normally supposed to be much LOWER than the rest of the spectrum? Yes, I had C weighting. Yes, double checked everything. I first thought that maybe the subs are out-of-phase with each other, but then there would be 0db at the lowest frequencies. I thought that maybe because the room is open to the house, that some pressure would be lost, but the 20-30 hz jump still wouldn't make sense. The only explanation that I can think of is that the subs are out of phase with the mains (?).

I still need to do the following:

1. run the sines through the mains with the subs turned off