Impedance question [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Impedance question

lumiere
05-29-2004, 03:59 PM
Have question about impedance. My amp is Musical Fidelity A 3.2 integrated, rated at 115 wpc at 8 ohm, 230 at 4 ohm. My question is, would using a 4 ohm speaker be dangerous to the amp? Would it get to hot?
Thanks, in advance.

Miguel

RGA
05-29-2004, 04:56 PM
No the MF can handle 4 ohm speakers. Generally if they proivide the 4 ohm rating the amp is 4 ohm capable - if they don't provide it they generally dislike 4ohm speakers. There are exceptions - but MF is a high quality amp that is probably stable to 2ohms.

lumiere
05-29-2004, 06:40 PM
Thanks!!!

nusiclover
06-02-2004, 01:07 PM
i have the a3.2 driving 4ohm speakers - no sweat! sounds great.

btw, is your moniker have anything to do with the forefathers of cinema?

lumiere
06-02-2004, 01:49 PM
Thanks, Nusiclover. And yes, I'm an editor.
Cheers.

Geoffcin
06-02-2004, 02:14 PM
Have question about impedance. My amp is Musical Fidelity A 3.2 integrated, rated at 115 wpc at 8 ohm, 230 at 4 ohm. My question is, would using a 4 ohm speaker be dangerous to the amp? Would it get to hot?
Thanks, in advance.

Miguel

The A3cr, and it has no problem driving my 4 ohm speakers. MF amps generally run cool, and are not bothered by low impedance.

JeffBrecklin
06-02-2004, 03:08 PM
Hi im new here and fairly new to audio equepment i have a reciever that is rated at 8 ohms is it dangerous to run 4 ohm speakers on it it gets warm but not hot what will happen to it if i have it on 4 ohms for a long time?

nusiclover
06-10-2004, 12:49 PM
Hi im new here and fairly new to audio equepment i have a reciever that is rated at 8 ohms is it dangerous to run 4 ohm speakers on it it gets warm but not hot what will happen to it if i have it on 4 ohms for a long time?