to biwire or not.. also seeking alternative to Monster Cable [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : to biwire or not.. also seeking alternative to Monster Cable

stevos2005
05-24-2004, 11:36 PM
I'm relatively new to picking out cables and i'm only familiar with Monster Cable. I'm plannign to get a decent pair of B&W speakers that have bi-wiring capabilities. What are the benefits of biwiring and is it worth it?

Also, I have Monster Cable M1.2 speaker cable, and was pleased with it, but I was wondering if there's anything that is a little better that will be cheaper, or something at a similiar or slightly lower price, that is significantly better. The Monster Cable M1.2 is placed at $150 for 10 ft. pair of speakers.

Thanks!

markw
05-25-2004, 02:40 AM
The audible benefits of biwiring is questionable. Some swear by it, some swear at it. In either case, don't expect miracles. ....but you CAN expect to double your speaker wire costs. At least one manufacturer has stated that they include biwiring capabilities at the insistance of their marketing staff, not their engineering staff.

You might want to solicit other opinoins on the speaker pages since this is more of a speaker issue than one of cables.

As far as "better" speaker cable, well, just let me say that the point of diminishing returns on speaker cables are much lower than the market would have you expect. One might be so bold as to suggest that you might have already crossed it.

Beckman
05-27-2004, 08:41 PM
I'm relatively new to picking out cables and i'm only familiar with Monster Cable. I'm plannign to get a decent pair of B&W speakers that have bi-wiring capabilities. What are the benefits of biwiring and is it worth it?