Speaker Recommendations for Home Theater [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Speaker Recommendations for Home Theater

MN_Hokie
05-21-2004, 12:12 PM
I'm setting up a home theater in my basement. The room is finished and is approximately 11X16 feet. I have already purchased the following equipment:

BenQ pb6100 DLP projector
84" Draper screen
Denon AVR-3805 Receiver

Here are the speakers I'm looking at getting:

Fronts - Klipsch RB35
Center - Klipsch RC35
Surrounds - Klipsch SCR3 (2)
Rears - Klipsch RS35 (2)

The back wall of the room is only about 8 feet in length, so I've had several people tell me that a 6.1 setup, using just 1 of the RS35's would be best, rather than a crowded 7.1 setup. I'm looking for recommendations on which way to proceed here, as well as if the RS35 would be the best choice for rear(s). I had considered putting another RC35 on the back wall if I just went with a 6.1.

Thoughts?

Jason

kpzbee
05-23-2004, 12:08 PM
I'm no audio expert by any means but here's my .02. I think going with a 6.1 would be a better bet too. My living room is 20 x20 & do to it's layout, I also went with a 6.1 set up vs a 7.1. My receiver is a 7.1 unit but I opted for the 6.1 layout. Unless you have a big enough area, to me a 6.1 or even a 5.1 is a better set up.

MN_Hokie
05-23-2004, 01:10 PM
I decided on a 6.1 as well. Rather than using the larger RS35 for the rear center, I decided to go with a slightly smaller RCX from the Klipsch line.

kode3
05-26-2004, 03:40 AM
Klipsch? Have you heard anything else? Maybe Polk, Energy, Def Tech? The Klipsch can be a little harsh since they have horn tweeters.

Bryan
05-26-2004, 05:35 AM