Newbie needs advice! [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs advice!

charlee
05-17-2004, 01:51 AM
I am a novice in this home theatre setup.
I have a limited budget to buy a AV receiver for my DVD player with 4 - 6 ohms 5.1 channel speaker system.

Now Yamaha AV receivers are on sale and I found one model Yamaha RX-V340 which is in my budget range.

I am plan to buy this RX-V340 but I would like to know to make sure that it can be used with my 4 ohms speaker system.

And it has Dolby Digital Matrix 6.1 and DTS Matrix 6.1.
Are these Matrix systems also compatible with Dolby 5.1 and DTS surround system?
My DVD player has Dolby 5.1 and DTS decoder.

I use the HT system 70% on music listening (SACD, DVD-Audio etc.)

Do you think this RX-V340 is suitable for me?
Some say that Yamaha is better for movie and some says it is better for music.
I am comfuse with this.

Please suggest me before I buy this receiver.
Thanks.

Wireworm5
05-17-2004, 11:16 AM
I am a novice in this home theatre setup.
I have a limited budget to buy a AV receiver for my DVD player with 4 - 6 ohms 5.1 channel speaker system.

Now Yamaha AV receivers are on sale and I found one model Yamaha RX-V340 which is in my budget range.

I am plan to buy this RX-V340 but I would like to know to make sure that it can be used with my 4 ohms speaker system.

And it has Dolby Digital Matrix 6.1 and DTS Matrix 6.1.
Are these Matrix systems also compatible with Dolby 5.1 and DTS surround system?
My DVD player has Dolby 5.1 and DTS decoder.

I use the HT system 70% on music listening (SACD, DVD-Audio etc.)

Do you think this RX-V340 is suitable for me?
Some say that Yamaha is better for movie and some says it is better for music.
I am comfuse with this.

Please suggest me before I buy this receiver.
Thanks.