BIC DV62CLR-s (Newbie) [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : BIC DV62CLR-s (Newbie)

schmiedl
05-08-2004, 02:26 AM
I'm new to this and have just purchased one of these speakers as a Center. I have been reading quite a bit about a MOD package for these but am not real sure why or what
purpose it serves. (Audiophile I am NOT - Laugh). Is this a night and day thing, as the speaker doesn't sound bad to me, but a small amount of enlightenment from some one who really knows would probably help.

Thanks

EFE Speakers
05-08-2004, 01:17 PM
Schmiedl,
My advice to customers that e-mail me regarding the mod is, if you like the sound of the speaker as is, DO NOT have the modification! Some guys (read the reviews) think the stock speaker sounds great, in my opinion it is way too bright and harsh, especially at higher volumes, even after it is broken in. It might sound better on some equipment, or perhaps their ears like a brighter sound as I know many do. But, for those who listen to music and want a more natural sounding speaker (voices more real, instruments more live), the modified speaker is definitely more realistic. For Home Theater, accuracy really isn't an issue, but for the critical listener who uses the speakers for music also, the stock speakers are terrible in my opinion. Read the latest review on the DV-62si speakers, the guy (John Costello) lives in NY and was very skeptical, but his opinion quickly changed when he listened critically to his favorite music.