Power conditioning [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Power conditioning

Mr Peabody
11-27-2003, 11:16 AM
I am considering some power conditioning. Give me any experience you may have with this. We have products that filter, actually create alternative sign waves. voltage stablization, and isolation. I mainly interested in filtering and isolation from what I know so far. Do these products make a difference? I have been looking at Changlight Speed, PS Audio, Richard Gray Power Co., Transparent and Monster. Monster seems to be the cheapest and claims to do the same thing as the big boys. Some of these companies claim Stablization in a consumer setting is impossible. I've heard some products limit your current flow. I saw a piece by Changlight Speed that claims to handle 3600 watts, that should handle a heavy current draw. What do I need if anything in these products?

Thanks. I'm still learning my way around these forums, please keep that in mind if I don't respond to something right away or do something stupid.

mtrycraft
11-27-2003, 11:50 AM
Why are you looking at any of these in the first place? What problems have you measured in your home?

Many claims are made, very few are actually real or even needed. Your audio component is designed to filter and to work within a range of voltage. The only real need I see is where you may have frequent power surges.

zapr
11-27-2003, 01:13 PM
I have talked about power conditioning in the speaker forum and described what I learn.I bought a power conditioner by monster and it's the only accessory that really worked.Some of the guys on this forum disagree.Your best to research for yourself.Go to reviews and click others under accessories.You will find power conditioners there and read what others have to say.Or go to monster cable.com and click monster power.All the information is there.

mtrycraft
11-27-2003, 07:19 PM