Dynavector 10x5 - underwhelmed [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Dynavector 10x5 - underwhelmed

sjtm
09-17-2016, 09:53 AM
I still consider myself an audio newbie, but trying to experiment a bit with SQ upgrades. Some time ago, I found a nearly new Dynavector 10x5 for sale and decided to swap out my Grado Gold. I have no experience installing cartridges, but met someone in my area who does ( he enjoys restoring vintage turntables). He graciously offered to do the install at my home.

Afterward we both agreed that two things occurred: The rich warmth of the Grado was lacking, and my speakers now sounded desperately in need of a subwoofer. We switched to an SACD and the depth of the soundstage immediately improved as did the dynamic range of the speakers.

I have decided to live with the 10x5 for a couple of months to see if anything changes, but I am holding on to the Grado and it may return to my system in the near future.

Each step until this one in my audio adventure resulted in meaningful SQ improvement, and a feeling that the cost was well justified. This makes me think I am where I need to be and should just stop and enjoy the music.

Mr Peabody
09-17-2016, 07:24 PM
I wonder how many hours the 10x5 had on it. That cart will be quite a bit more neutral than the Grado but still should be boogieing on your table. Mine sounded closed and cold at first, they take an average of 100 hours or so to break in, it's a moving coil. You could play with impedance adjustments if they exist for you. Also, once you are convinced it's broke in you can play with the counter weight to see if more or less makes a difference for you. Carts have a recommended range and may sound better to the heavier or lighter end of the range depending on table and taste.

Once broke in you should be getting detailed and ample bass, the sound should be quick, agile.