Hello [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Hello

LPgeek
02-12-2015, 07:40 AM
I've lurked for a little while and I'm very excited to join the community. I'm a jazz musician and love well recorded live albums. While I like recordings to sound as much like real life as possible, that's not a hard and fast rule. I've heard some records where the close mic'ing brings out subtleties that could otherwise be obscured.

I'm not technically gifted and I don't have significant understanding of the science behind stereos, but I know what sounds good to me and I'd certainly like to learn.

I've experimented with a bunch of stuff over the past 20 years: Rotel, NAD, Acurus, Aragon, Adcom, Schiit, Burson, Beyerdynamic, Grado, Hifiman, Rega, AR, Dynavector, Denon, Jolida, Cambridge Audio, Paradigm... the list goes on, and now that I've typed some of it, I'm concerned I have a problem!

I look forward to learning more and sharing what I've experienced experimenting with different audio equipment.

harley .guy07
02-12-2015, 07:52 AM
Hello, I am also a musician but by hobby not as a occupation. I play guitar, bass and sing although I don't sing as much as I used to. I have also had several brands over the years but not as much as you have but I used to manage a high end home audio shop in my home town in the 90's and got to play with several brands then. Now its hard to get my hands on different stuff and hear different stuff due to there not being a good shop here and also there aren't many audiophiles in this area that I have connected with.

blackraven
02-12-2015, 10:25 AM
Welcome to AR, tell us what gear you have!

LPgeek
02-13-2015, 06:58 AM