Greetings from Chesapeake VA [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Chesapeake VA

APurvis
07-23-2014, 11:13 AM
Good afternoon! I am a college student beginning what may be a career in radio. For the rest of the summer I am working with a cluster of radio stations and taking care of any I.T. related issues that emerge. Though I have a good history in I.T., my current knowledge of audio technology is somewhat limited, so I will be perusing this forum and asking a few questions while I learn more about audio. It may be some time before I can offer any substantial feedback to others, but my future seems to be paved with audio... so I will probably be around a for a bit.

Mr Peabody
07-26-2014, 07:24 PM
Welcome to the forum. Although I suppose radio can still be considered audio with the trend to more automation and use of mp3 the sound quality has degraded terribly. As well corporate ownership and buying "pre-made libraries" of music the overall enjoyment of radio is gone. It seems radio's target market is for those who want background noise or the brain dead. I'm sure it's a lovely place to work though :)

Sorry but I am old enough to remember when I could listen to radio and there were stations (non-Top 40) where it was rare to hear the same song in the same week and programmers were actually allowed to use their judgment to give a track a spin or two if they thought it was good. There was a time when stations were owned by independent owners where the stations had it's own character whether from on air staff or how they did things.

Jack in Wilmington
07-27-2014, 04:42 AM