suggestions on new home theater setup? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : suggestions on new home theater setup?

jedthedeadhead
04-25-2004, 08:51 PM
I am new to the home audio world but not audio. I am going to be buying a new home system my budget for the whole thing is $2500 to $3000. Iwould like suggestions on what to buy the room in witch i will be placing the system is about 15 by 20 feet. I would like to have 7.1.

J.

paul_pci
04-25-2004, 09:37 PM
I am new to the home audio world but not audio. I am going to be buying a new home system my budget for the whole thing is $2500 to $3000. Iwould like suggestions on what to buy the room in witch i will be placing the system is about 15 by 20 feet. I would like to have 7.1.

J.

You can set up a really good system for your budget, but there are a couple of important questions to ensure that you'll get good feedback.

A). Do you intend to buy an A/V receiver or do you want to go with separates? Are there any home theater features you definitely wish to have?

B). How are you allocating your budget. For instance, you could get a kick-ass receiver for anywhere between $800-$1000 leaving the remainder for speakers, subwoofer (look into SVS subwoofers, as they are supposed to be the bomb), and cables.

Don't forget to demo as much equipment as possible.

Happy hunting.

Invader3k
04-26-2004, 04:44 AM
Agree with the other poster...you can get lots of great equipment in the price range you are looking at. One quick point...7.1 is nice, but do you really need it? If you feel you really want it, that is fine, but it isn't always necessary. Besides, your room is 15x20...not small, but not huge either. Will you have room to place all of your speakers in a room that size? If it is going to be a dedicated home theater room, that is one thing, but in a typical living room that can be much more difficult.

Have fun!

J.

jedthedeadhead
04-26-2004, 07:17 AM