Turntable advice: total newbie to analog [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Turntable advice: total newbie to analog

tony340
06-13-2014, 07:49 AM
I'm really interested in getting to know about vinyl, I'm totally a laymen on this subject, would appreciate every bit of advice on this. I'm looking at buying an used turntable on eBay, which I see for around the $100-200 price range. What should I be looking for in a turntable, I'm not even sure of the various parts of one, please treat me as a total dud on this. Any recommendations for a used turntable and advice is most appreciated. Thanks guys

JohnMichael
06-13-2014, 08:55 AM
I am unfamiliar with the used market. My initial suggestion is a Technics table with a Pmount arm. Easiest way to mount a cartridge if you have no experience. These days it can be difficult to find a shop to mount the cartridge for you.

Of course your electronics would need a built in phono preamp. If it does not you would have the expense of a phono preamp to raise the output voltage and apply EQ to the cartridges output.

For example

Technics SL BD20D Belt Drive 2 Speed Turntable Serviced New Stylus and Belt | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Technics-SL-BD20D-Belt-Drive-2-Speed-Turntable-Serviced-New-Stylus-and-Belt-/191207816920?pt=US_Record_Players_Home_Turntables&hash=item2c84dfbed8)

Mr Peabody
06-13-2014, 09:26 PM
P-mount is a great idea for getting started. There's turntable set up videos on YouTube and most of the audio forums have some "how to" info for set up as well. If you have any thrift or Goodwill around you might check them out to see if any turntables in there.

tony340
06-14-2014, 07:34 AM