What equipment do I need for a home theater system? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : What equipment do I need for a home theater system?

davidkjefferson
05-31-2014, 09:07 AM
I have no knowledge on home theater systems. I bought a new TV and am getting a 5.1 speaker system for Christmas. How does it connect to the TV? I've heard things about AV receivers. Is one needed to hook this up? Explain in layman's terms please.http://dailydigitaldeals.info/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/11/38/Smile.jpg

Mr Peabody
06-01-2014, 06:51 AM
You do need a A/V receiver. The general set up is hook your sources like disc players, satellite or cable to the receiver then the video output from the receiver to the TV. Most of these should be via HDMI cables.

Your speakers are powered by the receiver, you will have a center channel which should be placed at the center of your TV screen, usually above or below depending on your configuration. You will have a main left/right speaker and two left/right rear. The signal goes from your source into the receiver and is decoded then sent to the proper speaker for surround sound. Most receivers will have an auto speaker set up with microphone that is pretty easy to use. If your speaker package didn't come with a subwoofer you may want to consider buying one with the receiver as surround sound has a dedicated low frequency output usually labeled "LFE" (low frequency effects) or just "sub out"

Maybe not the cheapest on the market but I'd recommend looking at Marantz receivers for ease of set up and reliability.

Sound should not come from all speakers at a time so don't panic, the sound should go with the activity in the movie, so most sound will be from center speaker where the dialog and center screen action is. Left/right will be music from the sound track, action on those sides ofscreen and panning of sound to match the action, rear is ambiance and again panning of sound to match the movie.