Which TV? Woodman or Others [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Which TV? Woodman or Others

poneal
04-25-2004, 08:48 AM
I asked this question b4 about CRTs but my loving wife has now said that she wants a big TV and has given me a budget of $800-1000. I'm really a noob at TVs especially this day and age because there are so many different kinds. They used to all be CRT. So for this price what type of TV and brand would offer the best picture and quality? Thanks, Paul.

woodman
04-25-2004, 11:11 AM
I asked this question b4 about CRTs but my loving wife has now said that she wants a big TV and has given me a budget of $800-1000. I'm really a noob at TVs especially this day and age because there are so many different kinds. They used to all be CRT. So for this price what type of TV and brand would offer the best picture and quality? Thanks, Paul.

With a budget of only $800-1000, and the desire for "a big TV" - there's only one choice IMO, and that would be a front projector (DLP). With one of those, you can have as big a picture as you want ... within the constraints of the layout of your viewing room, of course. The only caveat is the need to control the ambient light of the room for viewing in the daytime.

There are several models of projector that are available in your price range from InFocus and Epson. For a screen, there are a wide variety of options, and you can always "get by" with something very cheap to start with and upgrade to a better screen when finances permit.

Given your budget, the only alternative to what I'm suggesting would be a direct-view CRT set of 36" which, although some might think of that is a "big TV" - it would pale in comparison to what you'd get with the front projector.

Hope this helps you

The Squeaky Wheel
04-25-2004, 12:31 PM
I'd be very appreciateive if you could respond to my post below about which set to choose. You seem to know a lot about these things.
thanks.

AVMASTER
04-25-2004, 02:00 PM