A real simple Hi-Fi question about stacking your Separates [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : A real simple Hi-Fi question about stacking your Separates

Swing24h
04-25-2004, 01:36 AM
Hi All,
I'm a total newbie so I apologise in advance if this a stupid question, but I'm worried.
Ok I have just bought a NAD 521 Bee cd player and NAD C320 Amp, and I am very happy with them, now I have stacked them on top of each other, with the Amp on the bottom and the cd player on top.
Then I noticed that there are vents on top of the Amp, is it dangerous to put the Cd player on top, would the Amp overheat ????
Also I live in Bangkok where it is the hot season now, and it hits 41 celsius everyday.
Please I know this is most prbably a dumb question but it took me ages to save for this and I don't want it going up in flames :(

Geoffcin
04-25-2004, 02:51 AM
Hi All,
I'm a total newbie so I apologise in advance if this a stupid question, but I'm worried.
Ok I have just bought a NAD 521 Bee cd player and NAD C320 Amp, and I am very happy with them, now I have stacked them on top of each other, with the Amp on the bottom and the cd player on top.
Then I noticed that there are vents on top of the Amp, is it dangerous to put the Cd player on top, would the Amp overheat ????
Also I live in Bangkok where it is the hot season now, and it hits 41 celsius everyday.
Please I know this is most prbably a dumb question but it took me ages to save for this and I don't want it going up in flames :(

It could lead to premature failure of your amp or worse. Also, keep all line level components away from your amp. My amp is 4ft from my CD player, and preamp. If you stack components use a well made audio rack with good spacing.

Invader3k
04-25-2004, 05:16 AM