Newbie - Record Player and Speakers Question .... [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Record Player and Speakers Question ....

tscutty
03-14-2014, 08:00 AM
Hello board ... I am a newbie here and looking for some advice ...

I have a 2 parter ....

Part 1 ...
I am new to the Receiver and Speakers kind of deal and have been reading about Ohms and Impedance but can figure it out. I just picked up a Kenwood KR-710 Reciever on Ebay and 4 speakers I was given.

So the recommended Impedance for the Kenwood is 8 ohms (i believe from the manual). Does that mean all speakers need to be 8 ohms? Right now all 4 speakers are rated 8 ohms on the back. Is that wrong? Am i pushing the amp too much? I've been reading about it and seems like it could be wrong as people are finding out impedance ratings by certain calculations. Also do the size or wattage of the speakers matter as well? I have 2 big 3 foot speakers rated 8 ohms and 2 really small bookshelf speakers (probably about 2 inches tall) rated 8 ohms as well.

I use it with a record player as well as a connection adapter for a phone. It sounds great, but wanted to make sure i wasnt going to push the amp too much or damage the speakers. I usually dont go past half way on the receiver but rarely crank it to a little past half.

Part 2:
More simplified ... I have a new record player i bought a staples for $65 and an old MCS record player from the 80's. My Kenwood KR710 has a phono input as well as 2 Tape inputs. Am I better off using the new record player with the tape inputs or the old record player with the phono inputs?

The tape inputs seem to be ok for the moment, but not sure if i would get a richer, more vintage sound out of an older record player through the phono inputs.

Thanks in advance .... I can provide more details if needed. Thank you in advance.

blackraven
03-14-2014, 08:58 AM