looking for new amplifier/receiver? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : looking for new amplifier/receiver?

bandyband
03-01-2014, 04:31 PM
SO...I am relatively new to the audio speaker ways and a few months ago I purchased two JBL towers on sale brand new from JBL. I bought a 80 dollar sherwood stereo receiver to start off. A problem I have is that if I push the volume to around 42/60 on the stereo the stereo shuts off. The volume is quite loud, but do I simply not have enough power from this lower end stereo? I have rewired the speakers with new stereo wire and there are no wires touching.

Any recommendations on a next level up amplifier? I don't really need a stereo either.

Thanks!!!

JohnMichael
03-01-2014, 05:48 PM
Which JBL's did you buy? I would say without knowing model number and specs you are reaching thermal overload and the receiver is shutting down and protecting itself. I do not think an inexpensive receiver will drive tower multiway speakers, at high volume in medium size rooms.

Once we know the model of speakers, room size and budget we can make suggestions for you. Do you listen to a lot of radio and is a receiver even needed? The more you tell us the more we can help.

blackraven
03-01-2014, 06:19 PM
Also, what is your budget? There are some nice inexpensive high current receivers like the Harmon Kardon 3490 and 3390 that should have no problem driving the JBL's. These models are being phased out so they may be hard to find. The cheap sherwood has a POS power supply.

If you can find an Onkyo Tx-8555 reciever, it also is a high current design for a budget receiver.

Give the mrantz SR 4023 receiver a look.

I looked at the floor stander speakers on the JBL web site and the towers all have a speaker sensitivity or 91db. They should play at ear bleeding levels with just a few watts of power.

JohnMichael
03-01-2014, 07:18 PM