Primare SP33 vs Marantz AV8801 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Primare SP33 vs Marantz AV8801

jcrxman
10-17-2013, 04:17 AM
Hello everyone. I am new to this but really want to do it right the first time rather than going through an expensive trial and error process over years.
So far I have....

Speakers B&W 802 Diamonds fronts, 805 rears, and centre

Electrocompaniet AW 3x120-M (two of these because apparently "When used in multi-channel configuration, a pair of these three channel power amplifiers is an ideal choice for a home theatre.")

So that leaves the best pre-amp to run this system.
I am advised by the salesman that the SP33 will give the best audio result. Is this true?
The Marantz is 4K ready - with upscaling and pass-through, whereas the Primare does not have this feature.
It seems that the Marantz is the more future-proof choice but I don't really want to sacrifice optimum sound. If the difference in performance between the two pre-amps is minimal then I would probably choose the Marantz.

Suggestions and guidance would be most welcome. Thanks!

blackraven
10-17-2013, 09:03 AM
If you want the best sound then don't worry about the 4K. You can get a 4K BR player. It all boils down to what features you want and what is more important to you. The Marantz with its warm sound may be a good match for the B&W's. Your dealer should let you take each unit home for a spin to see which one you prefier.

harley .guy07
10-18-2013, 04:30 AM