Denon DRA-275RD with Tannoy Mercury V1's??? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Denon DRA-275RD with Tannoy Mercury V1's???

AlexisF
10-16-2013, 12:56 AM
Hi all, I'm a bit of a noob to all this so I'm looking for some of your expert opinions.

I've been given a Denon DRA-275RD amp, a bit old but in perfect working order (and free :) )
So i was looking to pair it with the Tannoy Mercury V1 speakers and a marantz CD6004 cd player.
My budget as you can tell is fairly limited, so these seemed like good items to go for, good reviews etc etc.

Thoughts?? Will all this sound ok together? Or is this more of a Frankensteins monster.

blackraven
10-16-2013, 07:33 AM
It should sound fine except at loud levels as the receiver is only 40 wpc and the speakers sensitivity is 86 dB. But for normal listening it should sound great.

AlexisF
10-16-2013, 08:08 AM
Excellent, I can't imagine I'll be playing it too loud.

As a further question... as the unit is on offer. Do you think its worth investing further in the Marrantz PM6004, its a discontinued line and therefore last units are reduced. Or will the difference in quality be negligible?

blackraven
10-16-2013, 08:46 AM
Its hard to say. I like the Marantz sound. Marantz typically has a house sound that leans on the warmer side. A warmer sound is more forgiving with bright sounding Cd's, especially older recordings and rock. The power gain of 5 more watts is negligible. I have never heard the Denon. But there may be some synergy of the Marantz receiver and the Marantz CD player and the two may compliment each other. Based on the review below that seems to be the case. So it may be a reasonable upgrade.

Here is a good review on the Marantz-

Marantz PM6004 review from the experts at whathifi.com (http://www.whathifi.com/review/marantz-pm6004)

frenchmon
10-16-2013, 01:53 PM
Excellent, I can't imagine I'll be playing it too loud.