New setup, need advice. Marantz SR5007, Mordaunt-Short MS906, Yamaha YST-SW320 Sub. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : New setup, need advice. Marantz SR5007, Mordaunt-Short MS906, Yamaha YST-SW320 Sub.

Luke0435
09-28-2013, 09:13 AM
Hello this is my first post here. I have just bought a new Marantz SR5007 amplifier/receiver, 2 second hand Mordaunt-Short MS906, and a Yamaha YST-SW320 Subwoofer and set it up with some nice 16g cable. Now I'm not an expert in this field but I am absolutely amazed at every subtle nuance in the music; I've got some jazz on at the moment. These Mordaunt-Shorts are gorgeous. Plain and simple. But I digress. I really am a novice so I would be eager to hear a suggestion or two about what centre speaker and 2 sets of bookshelf speakers for rear surrounds to complete a 7.1 setup.

Here are a few I like: can you advise me on whether they would suit my setup? And if they are any good.

Klipsch synergy C3 centre
Polk csm centre
Dali concept centre
Jamo prestige 180 centre
B&W cc3 centre

Dauphin Quadral mk3 bookshelf
Canton le102 bookshelf
B&W dm602 bookshelf
Polk rt35i "
Tdl Nfm 2 "

Of course if you can recommend anything better, please do. Use the above suggestions when gauging my budget.

Lastly, the Subwoofer was a bit of a last minute purchase and im not 100% on whether its a good 'fit'. Perhaps you could suggest a better Subwoofer or a setup tip...?

Thankyou for your suggestions and support.

blackraven
09-28-2013, 11:24 AM
I would stick with Mordaunt Short brand so that all your speakers have similar sound, especially the center channel

harley .guy07
09-28-2013, 12:04 PM