"Timbre matching" center with l/r [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : "Timbre matching" center with l/r

Just another college kid
07-21-2013, 02:08 PM
So I recently picked up some boston acoustic cs 260 II's for $75 each off the amazon marketplace. Since any modern pair is going to set me back 250+, and I had 160 in gift balance, I figured I probably wouldn't see much better of a deal without spending real money. As I'm a college student, I don't have much of that.

Now to the topic, I'm wanting a center for them (they sound decent, but I want a little more mid/high range. Bass is enough for music but I'll probably get the Dayton Sub 1000/1200 later). The model line's center is a bit out of my wallet's range, so I've been looking for alternatives. The front runners are the JBL HSL center and the BA center from the model line before mine.

I've seen virtually every thread on centers recommend timbre matching the c/l/r, but I haven't been able to figure what that means data-wise with my searching. Here's the info on the centers (the ones I'm looking at and the one for my 260s):

My model's center: http://www.bostonacoustics.com/DocumentMaster/US/Classic_Series_II_lit.pdf

Model line prior: http://www.bostonacoustics.com/DocumentMaster/US/Classic_lit.pdf

JBL: http://www.jbl.com/resources/Brands/jbl/Products/ProductRelatedDocuments/en-US/technicalsheet/HLS%20Center.pdf

In terms of specs it looks like the JBL matches my line's center more, but its tweeter is also half the size.

Would you recommend:
1) Go with one of the two I found
2) Go with another that you recommend
3) Save for this model line's center
4) Ghost/phantom center and use the money for rears instead

Thanks for any help

blackraven
07-21-2013, 04:13 PM
You should save for the models center speaker if you want to match the timber. Basically you want the center to match the general tone of the rest of your speakers. It should blend in. This is the best way to go.