Sony and Gallo System? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Sony and Gallo System?

cwall
06-20-2013, 06:46 AM
Hello all,

I will be honest and say that I am somewhat new to the Home Theater realm.

I currently have a HTiB, Sony HTSS2300, and one of the speakers has started crackling, the UI has never worked correctly in the system and I would like to upgrade to a system that has more expandability and punch. With all that being said, I have been researching over the last year or two on a replacement for the system.

I live in an apartment and my living room is of course awkward, and the wife (nor do I really) doesn't want speakers with a large footprint. I primarily watch Sci-Fi or Action movies so quality surrounds are important.

I think I have boiled it down to what I think to be a fairly solid setup with expandability options available. So here goes:

Receiver: Sony STR-DN1040
Speakers: Anthony Gallo A'Diva Ti 5.1

I really like the new GUI on the Sony and, from all I've been reading, the Gallos are supposedly amazing for their size.

What are you guys' thoughts?

Thanks,

Chris

blackraven
06-20-2013, 10:26 AM
Here is a good review on the Gallo's. I haven't heard them but they certainly fit the WAF (wife acceptance factor). This will be a huge upgrade from your HTIB.

6moons audio reviews: Anthony Gallo Acoustics A'Dia Ti, Micro Ti, TR1 & TR2 (http://www.6moons.com/audioreviews/gallo4/ti.html)

As for the Sony, I have never been a fan of any of their gear, thats not to say the one you are looking at is bad. Also take a look at Onkyo, Yamaha or Marantz.

cwall
06-20-2013, 12:53 PM
Thank you for your input blackraven.

I just went to the store and heard the Gallos, and they're awesome. I also went to the Sony store and got my hands on the GUI for the 1040, and I have to say it was pretty slick. 4K upscaling, bluetooth and WiFi: all very nice features.

Any specific models to look at with the Onkyo, Yamaha or Marantz?