Total newbie! Help me please [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie! Help me please

GregUSC
04-20-2004, 08:54 PM
I have a family room, dining room, and kitchen area (all one big room) and i want to put about 4-5 speakers, one in each of the corners of the room and connect it to a CD player. This is for low volume listening, and i do not want to spend that much. I have a newer Aiwa "boombox" which i will use as the receiver. Keep in mind i do not want to have a rear, front, left, or right channel, i want all the speakers to play the same thing, just as backround music. I need the speakers to be SMALL, because i will be mounting them in the corners. So the question is...what do i need to buy? I have been looking at surround speakers and home theator packages, such as the Harmon Kardon HKT 6 and infinity SAT 450 sattelite speakers. I think i will need a subwoofer as well. Point a newbie in the right direction!!! My budget is around 300

topspeed
04-20-2004, 10:24 PM
I have a family room, dining room, and kitchen area (all one big room) and i want to put about 4-5 speakers, one in each of the corners of the room and connect it to a CD player. This is for low volume listening, and i do not want to spend that much. I have a newer Aiwa "boombox" which i will use as the receiver. Keep in mind i do not want to have a rear, front, left, or right channel, i want all the speakers to play the same thing, just as backround music. I need the speakers to be SMALL, because i will be mounting them in the corners. So the question is...what do i need to buy? I have been looking at surround speakers and home theator packages, such as the Harmon Kardon HKT 6 and infinity SAT 450 sattelite speakers. I think i will need a subwoofer as well. Point a newbie in the right direction!!! My budget is around 300

Let's get the important things out of the way first Greg;

Are you a man of Troy?