screen and projector combo advice [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : screen and projector combo advice

lomarica
09-22-2012, 11:59 AM
I am just getting started and want to get a screen and projector in say Nov this year. I have a 63" plasma but want a big screen for movie night.

However I want to keep this simple my idea is to place a manual pull down screen on top of the bridge between my Salamander towers and then place the projector on my coffee table and simply run hdmi on top of the floor to my Oppo player which has dual hdmi outs.

So after the movie I simply put the projector back in the closet, and roll up the screen. I would most likely just leave the screen on top of the bridge if I can mount it properly.

M viewing dist is head is 17 feet from the screen, (that is why the 63"plasma is too small) the coffee table is 10-12 ft. I am thinking a 100" screen would fit but not sure if it would go over my center speaker.

I am not interested in 3D and most watching will be in a dark room. Budget is $3-5000. Ultimately the projector might be built in but it would be nice to move to my rec room for gaming. Any comments appreciated.

Sir Terrence the Terrible
09-24-2012, 01:06 PM
I am just getting started and want to get a screen and projector in say Nov this year. I have a 63" plasma but want a big screen for movie night.

However I want to keep this simple my idea is to place a manual pull down screen on top of the bridge between my Salamander towers and then place the projector on my coffee table and simply run hdmi on top of the floor to my Oppo player which has dual hdmi outs.

So after the movie I simply put the projector back in the closet, and roll up the screen. I would most likely just leave the screen on top of the bridge if I can mount it properly.