Just starting out. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out.

lbhkilla
04-18-2004, 11:38 PM
I am just starting out in this HT stuff. I don't have much money right now, and don't think my budget will be getting to much bigger in the future. I have been looking around and have noticed a pretty nasty bias against Fluance, which I had been looking into. I was thinking about getting them, but having no way of hearing them I pretty hesitant. If anyone in here has heard them I would love to know how they sound, but if you are just speculating I have seen plenty of that already ;) Now I have looked into a few more brands. The Polk R series is in about my price range, as is the Celestion S series. If anyone has heard either of these I would like to know their opinion. Best Buy has the Celestions, so I think I might go there and see them, I think Circuit City and American has Polks. With the Celestion and Polk models I was thinking of getting the fronts and back for now and using a virtual center until I have money for that and a sub. I can put down about $400 right now. I also haven't heard anything about sony speakers, but from the bad things I have heard about their recievers I guess Im not thinking they are the greatest. Now keep in mind I don't need the greatest thing here, I just want something to watch some movies and listen to some music. I just would like to know how stuff in this range compares with eachother, I know it wont compare to the multi-thousand dollar stuff but that doesn't really concern me since I could never have that kind of money to put into speakers. Thanks in advance for any help.

nusiclover
04-19-2004, 12:42 AM
does that mean $400 for mains and rears? so say $250 for mains and $150 for rears? or $200 and $200?