Merrill Replica ES Turntable ES-R1 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Merrill Replica ES Turntable ES-R1

Byron4
05-02-2012, 06:35 AM
This summer Merrill is introducing a new turntable based on the AR ES-1 turntable with the Merrill modifications. I have been using an AR turntable (The Turntable) for the past 28 years and fully enjoying it so this got my attention right away. The base price is $995 and fully set up with the base finish, Rega tonearm, Ortofon cartridge, dustcover it is still under $1500. There are also many other options. This could be another way to go for anyone looking to get into analog. I wonder if these will be sold in the stores or displayed at the audio shows because I would love to see the unit. Generally I think it is better to purchase a turntable from your local brick and mortar store so it can be set up properly. It sure is an exciting time to be into analog.

E-Stat
05-26-2012, 09:25 AM
This summer Merrill is introducing a new turntable based on the AR ES-1 turntable with the Merrill modifications. I have been using an AR turntable (The Turntable) for the past 28 years and fully enjoying it so this got my attention right away.
The AR was significant not only for its presence, but also that it spawned an entire new class of belt-driven designs. Admittedly, the original AR arm wasn't anything to write home about. Perhaps the most famous derivative design was the Linn Sondek LP-12. In '74, I had a Technics SL-110a with a SME 3009 and lusted after the Linn, but couldn't afford it at the time. Two years later, I ended up buying a rep's sample of an Ariston RD-11s which is a very near Scottish cousin. I use it to this day in the vintage system also with a SME3009 - although not the same one I originally used.

The base price is $995 and fully set up with the base finish, Rega tonearm, Ortofon cartridge, dustcover it is still under $1500.