I've got wood. [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : I've got wood.

02audionoob
03-20-2012, 06:48 PM
The P5 is now sportin' a Benz, although I'm a Bimmer driver. The Dynavector 10X4 goes in the drawer with the Goldring Eroica. Based on what I'm hearing from the Benz, the others may be 'gon soon.

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6221/6855696720_05cd640f1e_b.jpg

JohnMichael
03-20-2012, 06:59 PM
My Rega Planar 2 has wood.

02audionoob
03-20-2012, 07:02 PM
Your cartridge was at least a little bit of an encouragement for me to get wood.

GMichael
03-21-2012, 05:58 AM
You guys are killing me.:eek6:

Jack in Wilmington
03-21-2012, 05:59 AM
Nice Noob. Looks very........regal, shall we say. I'm assuming this is your first wood cartridge and from the sounds of it, it won't be your last. Which Benz is it? Don't bring the Bimmer into your audio room and you'll be OK.

Worf101
03-21-2012, 07:00 AM
Depending on your age, I was going to offer "congratulations".

Worf

bobsticks
03-21-2012, 10:49 AM
As a mod I approach any thread that originates in the P.M. hours and includes pictures and the title "I've Got Wood" with a certain degree of trepidation.

Nice cart though! :p

frenchmon
03-21-2012, 10:52 AM

Worf

Hahahahaha! Good one Worf!

Which cart is it noob? And can you describe its character?

02audionoob
03-21-2012, 04:04 PM
This particular Benz is the LO 0.4 model, which is the predecessor to the current SL Wood model. I had never ventured as low as 0.4 mV before, which is why my eye was starting to wander a little on phono preamps. I was concerned the GCPH wouldn’t have enough gain. I have now found I can call off the chase. The volume level is entirely sufficient. That’s a good thing – I didn’t want to give up the GCPH. I’m sort of relieved I don’t have to make more changes and take more chances on gear I can’t audition.