Subwoofer Recommendations [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Subwoofer Recommendations

Rake
02-16-2012, 04:35 PM
Hello all… new to the forum and I’m looking for some subwoofer help. Due to my work and the lifestyle that following the work has required, I’m also fairly new to surround sound. That said, I’m looking to purchase my first sub.

I’m currently in a small apartment in a mid-rise building.. It’s a quiet place, I’ve got a fairly good relationship with my surrounding neighbors and would like to keep it that way. My listening area is approximately 12’ x 17’ with my prime spot centered in the room, i.e. the room is a combo LR/DR and my seating is the divide between the living area and the dining area, approximately 9’ from the front speakers. I’m looking for a sub to match up with the gear listed below,

I understand that more power generally equates to better sound even at low volumes, but my main concern at the moment is that I really don’t want to rattle the floors and walls with a sub… at least not right now.

I also own a home which, due to the aforementioned work, I’m currently renting out. My hope is that, when my project ends next winter/early spring, I can finally move back into my house. The listening area is a bit smaller (10’ x 15’, with the seating across the short side); the living area is separate from the remainder of the house. Once I get into the house, I’m far enough away from neighbors that volume and rattle won’t be a concern. So, I also would like to get something that I’ll be able to feel once I’ve moved. I will also likely purchase floor standing speakers to pair up front with the bookshelf speakers I currently have. I need to do something about those surround speakers, too. I likely won’t have room for rear speakers unless I can figure out how to put them in the wall directly behind the seats.