Pioneer 700 hpm. PLEASE HELP [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer 700 hpm. PLEASE HELP

joe.1412
12-26-2011, 06:35 PM
Hello. i'm not an expert in speakers and receivers and these stuff but i heard a lot of good stuff about them, i recently bought a pair of pioneer 700 hpm and each one is 120w.
currently i'm looking at receivers and amps but i don't know ANYTHING about it. all i know is that the receiver needs to be 120w per channel so the speakers can sound good at their max volume, i dont know if i need a 2.1 or 5.1 receiver and do i need an amp ? or pre amp ? please tell me what i exactly need for these speakers to sounds GREAT and LOUD ! thnaks !!

markw
12-26-2011, 07:39 PM
Hello. i'm not an expert in speakers and receivers and these stuff but i heard a lot of good stuff about them, i recently bought a pair of pioneer 700 hpm and each one is 120w.
currently i'm looking at receivers and amps but i don't know ANYTHING about it. all i know is that the receiver needs to be 120w per channel so the speakers can sound good at their max volume, i dont know if i need a 2.1 or 5.1 receiver and do i need an amp ? or pre amp ? please tell me what i exactly need for these speakers to sounds GREAT and LOUD ! thnaks !!Those power ratings on speakers are more of a rule of thumb and is easily proven wrong by using ones head.

Just because a speaker might be able to absorb a constant 120 watts before smoking out does not mean they will sound good while doing so. They could be terribly distorted as they reach that point.