Speaker help for a newbie [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Speaker help for a newbie

RFT
12-25-2011, 08:14 AM
Hello experts,

I need some serious speaker help. I am new to the sound world and I am getting ready to purchase my first home theater system. I am looking to get a 5.1 system to start and my budget is around $2,000-$2,500. I think I have settled for a Denon receiver (either the AVR-1912 or the AVR-2312), but I can be talked into something else. Assuming the receiver costs about $600-$700, my speaker budget goes down to $1,300-$1,800. I listened to some B&W bookshelf speakers in this price range at a home theater store and was quite impressed. Before buying anything though, I would like to receive some advice. Are there any other brands I should look at (there are so many choices!)? Am I on the right track? Is there anything else I need? My room size is about 16’ x 20’.

Also, is there a good wireless solution? This room has ceramic floors and no attic, so running wires to the back speakers is impossible.

Any help is appreciated!
-Rodrigo

blackraven
12-25-2011, 10:24 AM
I would consider an Onkyo 800 series receiver or Marantz. The Marantz has a warmer sound as all Marantz gear does and it would be a good match for the B&W's.. Martin Logan makes wireless subs. B&W's are a good choice, others to consider are PSB, Paradigm, NHT Classic series, Monitor Audio.

markw
12-25-2011, 11:19 AM
A goodly portion of the impact, and satisfaction, of a HT system comes from the low end. Don't skimp on the subwoofer.

If music has any importance to you, when you audition speakers, take music you're familiar with and concentrate on listenng to the front right and left pair with no subwoofer or added DSP enhancement from the receiver. If a pair of speakers sounds good on music, you can bet they will do well on HT.

Once you find a pair that suits your tastes on music, go for the center and surrounds from the same line.