Hello from the UK [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Hello from the UK

ursus262
12-06-2011, 09:36 AM
Phew! What a performance! :arf:

Anyhow, my name is Dave and I am from Luton, in the UK, about 30 miles north of London. I thought I'd give this forum a try, as I find that the UK-based forums can be a bit stuffy at times, so I look forward to making many new friends in a better atmosphere.

I'm 49 years old and I work as a Quality Systems Engineer for a medical devices manufacturer and speak English, Dutch and French. I was born in Luton, but lived in Belgium for some time before returning. Never been to the US before, so I'm hoping for an excuse to go sometime in the future.

I have a Naim Uniti, driving a pair of Monitor Audio RS6 floorstanders, with a Cambridge Audio UDP and a Philips DCC recorder. I also have a Thorens TD165 turntable, a Humax PVR and a Samsung LED monitor screen.

I love music and sing as a Tenor in the Luton Choral Society, an organisation that is over 120 years old. But I also like dance music, and I especially like the Prodigy!

I also like cars, and I drive a Smart Roadster Coupe sportscar, and drive over to France twice a year. Last year, I drove down to Spain before sailing home on the car ferry.

So, that's a sort of potted introduction. I look forward to contributing in the months and years to come.

Dave :20:

JohnMichael
12-06-2011, 10:11 AM
Welcome to AudioReview. I am also an owner of the RS6's and have mixed feelings about them. They alternate between Mobile Fidelity Sound Labs OML1's and the RS6's are currently in the closet.

Where in France do you visit? I have only been to Paris and fell in love with the city. I have a friend in Manchester, England and planning my first visit to England.

We enjoy many different perspectives on audio, music and any number of issues that might be discussed. Oh and we are not stuffy. All are welcome.

ForeverAutumn
12-06-2011, 10:20 AM