how to start buidling my audio equipment?? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : how to start buidling my audio equipment??

limonv
07-29-2011, 06:41 AM
Hello, i just joined audioreview today. The thing is, i recently got as a gift a stanton t.92 direct drive turntable and i want to get a nice set of speakers to listen to my vinyl´s collection. I dont own a receiver or amp and i dont know which way to start building up my sound equipment.
Should i buy the receiver and the speakers? should i go only for the speakers? do i need an amp/preamp? can a receiver also be an amp?
I´m willing to spend between 300-500 on speakers and another 300 (should i spend more on receiver less on speakers??) for a receiver/amp. I´ve been wandering on amazon and ebay and have found good (at least i think so) deals for receivers like HK 3390 High Performance 2 x 80W Stereo Receiver 270, and a couple of ONKYO´s between 200-300.

Like i said, i am new at this and any help could really be useful.

Thanks!!

Luvin Da Blues
07-29-2011, 06:48 AM
Personally, I would look for a used Sansui or Marantz intergrated amp with a built in phono pre amp. An intergrate amp combines both the pre and power amp into one chassis. Speaker are a very personal choice so I would try to listen to as many as I could.

BTW, welcome to the jungle.

Mash
07-29-2011, 07:07 AM
$599/pair and you can be satisfied by them for many years:

http://www.magnepan.com/model_MMG

Then look for a receiver with 100W/chanel at 8 ohms / 150 - 200 W/ch at 4 ohms

Phono preamp in receiver may be a challenge in today's CD/DVD world. Google/Bing for phono preamp stand-alone units.

limonv
07-29-2011, 12:38 PM
thanks for your recommendations guys, if anything else comes to your mind please let me know!! im trying to aknowledge as much as i can so i can make the best decision.
i have been going trough amazon mostly, the MARANTZ integrated amp that i found are a bit more expensive..