Help Me Pick A New 'Slim Line' CD Player: [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Pick A New 'Slim Line' CD Player:

Vinylly
07-05-2011, 07:02 AM
Being an artist, I'm very concerned about the 'asthetic appearance' of the gear I choose as well as the quality of the sound.
I put together a wonderful little mini-system for my shop. The speakers consist of NHT PRO active mini-speakers. Reference LIne Mod 2000 passive preamp and a Perreaux TU-1 tuner. All I need now is a CD player. Both the preamp and the tuner are very 'slim-line', being not more then 2" in height. Is there a good CD player on the market with a height of about 2" ?
I would buy another Arcam fmj 36 like I have in my studio, but it is 4" in height, so I want something equally as good but only about 2" in height.
If I ever retire and move to a retirement home with minimum of space, this would be the system I would keep. So, also, is there a good subwoofer that could be connected to a minimalist passive preamp? Does NHT make one? I'm using a REL Stata now with my living room system but I don't understand how it's connecting system would work with a passive preamp and with amplifiers built into the speaker system.:9:

Poultrygeist
07-07-2011, 02:41 AM
The slimist of slim CD players will probably be Panasonic DVD player. Mine measures 1 3/8 inches high. Oppos are also fairly slim.

Some passive preamps have two outputs which makes things easier. You can connect one output to the amp and one to the powered sub. If you have a passive preamp with only a single output you could try splitting it using a Y RCA connection.

woofersus
07-07-2011, 06:33 AM
My Sony BDP-S370 is pretty slim and can play SACD's, DVD-A, and BD-A in addition to CD's. (by virtue of its being a Blu-Ray player) It can be had for $110-$120 as well.