A maternity question? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : A maternity question?

Smokey
07-02-2011, 01:59 PM
Why most babys are born during night time after dark?

markw
07-02-2011, 04:33 PM
Isn't
...during night time after dark? somewhat redundant?

Smokey
07-02-2011, 08:14 PM
Being dark outside does not always equal night time :)

markw
07-03-2011, 01:48 AM
Being dark outside does not always equal night time :)But being night time does equal dark.

blackraven
07-03-2011, 01:43 PM
Being a physician I was not aware that more babies are born at night but it may be due to the hormonal release of Oxytocin which causes contraction of the uterus. It may be tied in to the circadian rhythm. I have delivered about 50 babies in my career and looking back I guess many were delivered in the evening or at night!

ForeverAutumn
07-03-2011, 01:56 PM
I have delivered about 50 babies in my career

As a doctor, that must just be an awesome experience.

blackraven
07-03-2011, 02:09 PM
As a doctor, that must just be an awesome experience.

Even though I am specifically trained in emergency medicine and most of those babies were delivered during my Internship years it still remains the most rewarding and happiest thing I have done in my many years in medicine. If it were not for the terrible hours (night time deliveries) I would have gone into OB-GYN.

Smokey
07-03-2011, 08:53 PM
But being night time does equal dark.

Not if you live in South or North Pole :)

Being a physician I was not aware that more babies are born at night but it may be due to the hormonal release of Oyxtocin which causes contraction of the uterus. It may be tied in to the circadian rhythm.

I don't know what those mean, but if it is related to emotions it might be it. The answer I got was from a movie director (rather than doctor) and he said that most babies are born at night because human emotions run higher at night.