$1,000-1500 Budget for 2 Speaker System [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : $1,000-1500 Budget for 2 Speaker System

bfromla
04-11-2004, 05:03 PM
Hi, I have been browsing this site for several years, and finally have the opportunity to buy a sound system for my apartment. I have set aside about $1000-1500 for the entire system. I figure that would cover 2 speakers, a reciever/amp, cd player and cables. What would you recommend in terms of equipment for this setup for everyday music listening (most genres) in a small room?

I went to an audio store and listened to several speakers (saphire, mirage, totem, b/w, and paradigm). Being very new to this field, I was hoping to get some opinions.

Thanks for the help.

Brian

bturk667
04-11-2004, 06:54 PM
No matter what advice you recieve, you should do a lot of shopping. In other words, let your ears decide for you.
I would start by giving a listen to the NAD C320BEE integrated-amplifier; retail price is $400. Others to consider might come from Arcam, Cambridge Audio, and Rotel.

As for digital source components. Try to look into NAD, Sony, Philips, and Cambridge Audio.

Since speakers are the most subjective of components; I will let you decide that one.

kexodusc
04-12-2004, 03:22 AM
Wow, an exciting time for you. To stretch your dollars a bit further, consider buying some used components...and get out and start testing some speakers.
I'd second the Nad integrated amp, but are you building a home theater, or is this going to be used strictly for some great 2-channel stereo listening?

F1
04-12-2004, 07:23 AM
With $1500 budget I would get approximately
$900 pair of speakers (or probably $550 bookshelf and $350 subwoofer)
$400 amp/receiver (you want to setup HT or stereo?)
$150 CDP/DVD player (leaning towards DVDP)
$50 for cable, interconnect.
Happy shopping!

kexodusc
04-12-2004, 08:14 AM
With $1500 budget I would get approximately
$900 pair of speakers (or probably $550 bookshelf and $350 subwoofer)