High End Speakers for Music $1000-$2000 [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : High End Speakers for Music $1000-$2000

chitownaudio
02-07-2011, 11:26 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to high-end audio and looking to make my first good speaker purchase. Hoping for some of your thoughts. I'm looking for floorstanders, new, in the $1000-$2000 range. Mainly for listening to music. I will have it connected to my home theatre setup, but 2 channel music is way more important to me. I primarily listen to classical, jazz and standards with an occasional pop/rock cd. The speakers will initially be paired with an Onkyo HT-R640 receiver (although I plan to upgrade this in the future when financially able).

As for what I've heard:
B&W: 683, 684, CM9
psb: Image T6, Synchrony 1
Monitor Audio: Silver RX6

I liked the RX6, the 683 (the CM9 was nice too, but too much for me and not sure that I thought it was worth twice the cost of the 683), and the psb Synchrony (really nice speaker but way out of my price range). So right now it seems to be down to the 683 or the RX6.
So really two questions:
1. Of the speakers I've heard which do you think is the best for music?
2. Any other speakers I should consider? I've read good things about Dali, Focal, KEF, Paradigm, Revel, and Totem.

Obviously I need to listen and decide for myself, but I don't have a trained ear and I'm not exactly sure what to listen for. Just thought some of you might have some input. Thanks in advance!

Mash
02-07-2011, 12:16 PM
This person had a B&W complaint.
http://forums.audioreview.com/showthread.php?t=36041

You could also look at the Magnepan 1.7 for, oh, $1800. Visit Magnepan.com for info.

ken88
02-07-2011, 12:51 PM
I am very happy with the Totem Sttafs which retail for about $1,900 in Canada. I use them as my front speakers and they have exceeded my expectations, upgrading from the Energy CF 30.

chitownaudio
02-07-2011, 12:55 PM