Nintendo warns of eye damage from 3D [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Nintendo warns of eye damage from 3D

Hyfi
12-30-2010, 08:34 AM
Seems like a few of us have been correct in thinking that the long term effects of 3D programming and games are not a safe thing and there have not been enough long term research to say otherwise.

Nintendo has warned that children under the age of 6 should not even play them.

I guess if you are 6 and a day, you will be safe.....yeah right!

They also warn that 3D programming can be just as unsafe for some.

Full story here
http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20101230/ts_afp/entertainmentjapangame3dnintendo

harley .guy07
12-30-2010, 08:48 AM
that does not surprise me. the 3d thing is a fad in my opinion and with the depth perception trick it plays on the eyes I could see it being harmful with long term exposure. I am no medical expert or anything but I could see it.

Hyfi
12-30-2010, 08:54 AM
that does not surprise me. the 3d thing is a fad in my opinion and with the depth perception trick it plays on the eyes I could see it being harmful with long term exposure. I am no medical expert or anything but I could see it.

For sure and it's what Pix and I have felt from the beginning. I was just reading comments from people at the bottom where they get headaches after 5 minutes.

The problem is, if they actually did the same testing required in the medical world, they would have really messed up many people in the process. I would love to see the long term study results, if there were actually any by independent organizations with no ties to the industry. But, I am pretty sure there are none.

pixelthis
12-30-2010, 12:44 PM
For sure and it's what Pix and I have felt from the beginning. I was just reading comments from people at the bottom where they get headaches after 5 minutes.