Need advice on very low cost receivers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on very low cost receivers

landfill
04-09-2004, 07:17 PM
I'm just starting out in this home theater field and am completely lost. I looked through a lot of the old postings, but more of the questions about receivers are out of my budget. I'm still a college student!

In any case, I'm looking for advice on a new receiver to go with some new Athena AS-F2 speakers I just picked up. I'd like to stay around $250 for the receiver, I'd like 5.1 audio. I also need 5.1 channel inputs. Are there any suggestions?

Thanks a lot

kpzbee
04-09-2004, 07:26 PM
I'm just starting out in this home theater field and am completely lost. I looked through a lot of the old postings, but more of the questions about receivers are out of my budget. I'm still a college student!

In any case, I'm looking for advice on a new receiver to go with some new Athena AS-F2 speakers I just picked up. I'd like to stay around $250 for the receiver, I'd like 5.1 audio. I also need 5.1 channel inputs. Are there any suggestions?

Thanks a lot

I would suggest looking for something used. If you'll be happy with 5.1, you can pick up some real nice units for low cost. I considered this myself but have since changed my mind. Good luck & happy hunting!

paul_pci
04-09-2004, 09:42 PM
I'm thinking you could probably find a nice yamaha receiver for about $299 with the 5.1 channel input. In fact, I had originally purchased the HTR 5650 for that exact price thorugh J&R before finding a steal on the RX-V3300 model. Plus, since Yamaha has come out with a few new models, you might find a good deal on discontinued/clearance sales.

Happy receiver hunting. Don't preclude forgoing a purchase now for a wiser purchase in the future.

markw
04-10-2004, 03:45 AM
My stepson has a Panasonic HE-100 that sounds pretty durn good. These sell for $250 or less at the big box shops. Check out j and R, Best Buy and Circuit City.