Front Projectors anyone? [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Front Projectors anyone?

Ogeez
04-09-2004, 06:42 PM
Ok I am new to HT configs and have made the big plunge in. I see we are in the HT Forum but funny enough I see nothing about Front Projection Systems. So here I go. I just bought an Epson PowerLite S1 and I am remodling my Family room to accomadate it (so far I am waiting for specialized 35ft cables I ordered for the system) and have not bought the screen yet, anyone want to jump in on this and give me your opinion on a screen?

I think DA-Lite has a great web site to help with the decision but I would like to get feedback from those of you who have well.."been there got the t-shirt"...sort of speak. I have to let my budget dictate that it will be a Perm-Wall Mounted Screen but yeech, should it be white, grey, cinema contour, Clear-Pix ($$$$$) or what, I keep hearing that I should not scimp on the Screen or Video cables ever so I have Gold Plated Shielded High Resolution S-Video from the HK AVR-220 to the projector and from the projector to the DVD Playerit is Component, but the screen is still on the research page.

Thanks in davance for the opinions and suggestions. :cool:

AVMASTER
04-10-2004, 03:39 PM
you're missing key data to make the correct determination:
throw distance of projector
room size
placement of projector
viewing distance in relation to screen and seating

judging from info gathered about this "data grade" projector i'd use:
Da-Lite fixed screen Cinema contour video format pearlescent and add the pro-trim

cable-wise, you'll need 15 pin VGA to component for best performance

Ogeez
04-10-2004, 08:18 PM
you're missing key data to make the correct determination:
throw distance of projector
room size
placement of projector
viewing distance in relation to screen and seating

judging from info gathered about this "data grade" projector i'd use: