Help.. Merlin VSM_M owner needs advise [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Help.. Merlin VSM_M owner needs advise

ducatiman
04-09-2004, 12:25 PM
Hi guys, my first post on the forum here goes

Well first off I,ve made the classic case of buying before hearing in my own room
normally i would never do this ,but with are almost perfect feedback on this site and others
i bought a pair @ 5000$ ......now the real problem.....I,m in the U.K. and proberbly the only person in the country to have a pair.!!!!
my system
Teac P30 transport,
perpetual P3a+P1A=Monolithic PSU.......Also have a Benchmark DAC1
ARC SP9 Pre
Krell KSA50 power
transparent cables throughtout
had the Merlins for three weeks now
the issue is Bass........lack of bass weight,extention and attack
upper mid and top end are all that I hoped........can anybody offer some options

thanks guy's

Kev.

bturk667
04-09-2004, 12:49 PM
Have you played with speaker placement?
I am not a Merlin expert. Is there a difference between the VSM and the VSM Millennium? Iam assuming the Millennium are just a special edtition or something like that.
I know the VSM Millennium has an outbaord BAM bass equalizer. If your VSM does, proper adjustment would seem to be very critical!
I think your best bet would to be to contact Merlin for suggestions. I heard a pair of the Millennium at the CES. I do not remember tham having too much bass weight.

As for the questions you have foe the upper mids and high end, sorry. I wish I could help more. Sadly, this is why home demos are so important!

ducatiman
04-09-2004, 01:02 PM
just edited my post, the mids&upper are a big step forward,my previous Monitor audio gr20 have metal tweeter,Merlins are sublime in that area.
yes I have the single ended Bam,but its non ajustable
yep I,ve made a blunder, but looking at solutions now,has been suggested I add a sub
but have no experiance on that area at all.......

thepogue
04-09-2004, 02:11 PM