bose 901's [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : bose 901's

aljayne@netsync.net
10-27-2010, 12:49 PM
hi everyone...new to this web site, and not the best with computers. I do own 6 pair of bose 901's between boat and home....some series 2 and 3 and some 4. i recently purchased pair of 4 that need reconing... not sure about removing existing foam around cone without damage. some say to remove each speaker. is this necessary? my peavey xr 600 amp has built in equalizer.. do i need bose active eq? On my boat, i have same set up with pair on top and pair below. they are all wired together at peavey amp. sounds pretty nice, but not sure if this is causing harm to speakers. i am a retired musician, and have had my problems with altec, jbl, and other speakers. i think that is why i am a believer in the bose. they seem to perform well at high levels, and that's what i need to piss off the other boaters ( just kidding ) back to forum... can i use alcohol to remove foam on cone.... can i scrape off foam on cone with razor blade, and do i need to remove speakers? thanks for any info, alan

emaidel
10-27-2010, 01:42 PM
I'm surprised no one has responded yet to this thread. The mere mention of the word "Bose", and the Bose 901 in particular, usually results in a stream of comments from those who despise the 901, and just about anything ever made by Bose. Frankly, I'm one of those individuals, but then saying so doesn't help your situation.

You can get refoam kits for your 901's from an outfit in Florida called, "Simply Speakers." Just Google them, or call them if you wish, and they'll give you advice on how to refoam the drivers in your 901's. And, yes, you will probably have to remove each of those drivers/speakers in order to refoam them, as it will be awfully difficult to do with the drivers/speakers in place. And, no, anything other than the Bose-supplied equalizer will NOT work with the 901's, or at least work properly.

aljayne@netsync.net