First speaker build [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : First speaker build

she_devi86
08-11-2010, 12:59 PM
Hey,
What would be the best type of speaker to build for a first time project?
I'm currently studying sound design technology at uni, I'm just about to enter my final year. I decided I want to build a speaker for my final major project.
But I dont really know where to start, or what would be the best type.
Thanks in advance
Roxy

basite
08-11-2010, 01:10 PM
Hey,
I'm currently studying sound design technology at uni, I'm just about to enter my final year. I decided I want to build a speaker for my final major project.
Thanks in advance
Roxy

sealed box will be easiest, then vented with ports, after you master that, you could start with horns, and folded & backfolded horns, or transmission lines...

welcome to AR, btw :)

Geoffcin
08-11-2010, 01:23 PM
We have several resident DIY guys here that have made fabulous speakers. What was your price range?

poppachubby
08-11-2010, 03:20 PM
Hello she_devi86, and welcome to AR! Just a reminder that double posts are not allowed. I have merged your posts here in the DIY forum, where I felt it best fit.

There are a few builders here, I'm sure they'll chime in. Enjoy the forum!

kexodusc
08-11-2010, 05:23 PM
Hey,
Thanks in advance
Roxy
For your first project, best to build a proven design - plenty of DIY websites with lots of great info and excellent designs that are fully documented, including:
Partsexpress.com
zaphaudio.com
http://www.htguide.com/forum/forumdisplay.php4?f=6

If you had a budget, and speaker size in mind (as well as size of room they will play in) I could make a suggestion or two.

Dual-500
08-11-2010, 05:57 PM
What is your cabinet building experience level?

If beginner, you may want to consider a full kitted project for a starter. Something you do finish work only on the cabinets, plus wiring and driver installation, etc.