Newbie needs some help with updating home theatre [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs some help with updating home theatre

lithnights
07-20-2010, 11:13 AM
I am a newbie and need some help.

I just bought a new TV and new console unit and now want to redo my home theatre.
I currently have a Pioneer 1015 receiver, Infiniti CC-2 center channel, and Bose 301s as fronts. ..yes Bose.. : ) I have an 8" Acoustic Research S108PS sub. I also have a pair of inexpensive JA Audio cube speakers as my rears.

Most everything but the receiver (2 years old) was bought 12+ years ago. It has served me OK since I am far from an audiophile, but I know I can do better. I have attached a link to show you what I currently have. Hopefully you can view the link.

http://picasaweb.google.com/lithnights/HomeTheatreJuly2010Picasa#

I have done tons of research and read hundreds of posts on this forum. I've learned a lot, but still need some help.

Here are my requirements.
A. I want a better sounding setup than I have but I don't want to spend more than $1500-$2000 or so. I will keep my receiver but all my speakers and sub are candidates for replacement.
B. My wife does not want tower speakers (nor stands like the 301s sit on). Thus the front speakers need to sit next to the TV and the center channel will sit under the TV (where the current center is). There is 8" on each side of the TV. In one picture, the white paper is the size of the Def Tech Mythos Gem. This was to give my wife an idea of the size of them. She said she wouldn't mind bigger fronts than that as long as they aren't "too big".
C. The rears can't be much bigger than what I have (7" tall, 4" wide, 4" deep) due to my wife and since I need to hang them on the wall. There is not enough room for stands.
D. I use the speakers for 75% movie watching, 25% music.
E. The size of the room is 14x20 but it's a vaulted ceiling (15 feet high at peak, 8 feet at low point) and about 3200 cubic feet.