Are these Name Brand Speakers [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Are these Name Brand Speakers

VintageTurntable
05-17-2010, 10:45 AM
My dad was wondering because he had never heard of them. Big Monterous with wood Cabinets,15" Woofers,Circuit Breaker Protected,4Way,6 Driver,& they say Scott Exspensive? from 1987

VintageTurntable
05-17-2010, 10:50 AM
How do they compare with lets say KENWOOD & TECHNICS??

markw
05-17-2010, 10:51 AM
What did you say that brand was?

VintageTurntable
05-17-2010, 10:58 AM
Scott

basite
05-17-2010, 10:58 AM
sounds like a kabuki speaker, '87 and 6 drivers, (kabuki is not a brand, it's referring to a type of speaker) (look it up for clarification).

I wouldn't rate them very high, maybe somewhere in the lines of kenwoods, but kenwood's strength never were speakers neither, technics made some decent speakers.

As I have no experience whatsoever with the type of speakers you are referring to, I cannot comment on how they sound, but my expectations aren't very high - sorry.

VintageTurntable
05-17-2010, 11:04 AM
They sound Fantastic I have them hooked up to a 70's KENWOOD Stereo Receiver.

markw
05-17-2010, 12:49 PM
The fact of the matter is that, even in Scott's heyday in the 50's, 60's and early 70's they were not known for outstanding speakers. Electroncs, yes, but not speakers.

And, I didn't know they made planar speakers, either.

basite
05-17-2010, 01:13 PM
And, I didn't know they made planar speakers, either.

They didn't. :)

VintageTurntable
05-17-2010, 01:20 PM
Sorry must have posted in the wrong forum I don't know what Planar Speakers are??

VintageTurntable
05-17-2010, 01:21 PM
They are outstanding In my opinion. I even read online they had a better reputation than most for speakers. Correct me if I'm wrong but i'm 100% positive circuit breakers or fuses are only used in speakers that are exspensive never used in inexspensive ones?

basite
05-18-2010, 12:42 AM
I'm sorry, but...

where did you read that?