Baseball Field Sound System [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Baseball Field Sound System

MaxPay22
05-12-2010, 10:54 AM
I am a coach at the local high school and we are looking to install a new sound system. We have recently blown through 3 sets of speakers and possibly two receivers. So needless to say before we spend anymore money were going to try and locate the best stuff that we know will work.

I am looking for recommendations for speakers, receivers, mixers, amps or anything else that we might need. I have personally stopped trying to guess at what might work and am self admittingly not very tech savvy.

We have a varying budget probably around 500 bucks to get good quality/loud sound for a lot of years.

Thanks

woofersus
05-12-2010, 12:48 PM
How big an area are you looking to cover? The whole field? With something to shout through or to use for quality music playback? $500 isn't going to get you very far I'm afraid. Honestly I can't think of much of anything that sounds halfway decent for that price off the top of my head. If you're just looking to play music in the dugout maybe it can happen.

blackraven
05-12-2010, 01:14 PM
How many speaker's do you need and will it be for a PA system or just music? Will the speakers be outside all the time? Also, how long of a run from the amp to the speakers and what gauge wire are you using?

It sounds like your amps have been under powered and probably clipping, damaging both the amp and speakers.

You will need a sturdy high current amp and 10guage speaker wire if the distance to the speakers is more than 20feet. You will also need speakers that have a high wattage ratiing and good sensitivity to play loud.

Here's a power amp that will last but you will need a preamp along with it-

http://www.zzounds.com/item--CWNXLS802

With a $500 budget for amp and receiver, here's a receiver that will work if not abused. Its high current and decent power for 2 speakers.