Koss Porta-pros [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : Koss Porta-pros

cgibsong002
04-26-2010, 08:00 AM
Hey, just have a question about my current set up. Does anyone have these headphones ( or any headphone for that matter as it might answer my question..)? When listening to CD's on my laptop through my headphones, i always get a slight static/fuzz in the background of the music. It's not there when there are pauses in the music, only in the music itself. I'm running my laptop to my Presonus Firebox, and have my porta-pros connected to the firebox. I'd imagine the firebox is more than good enough to get decent sound.. so I guess my only problem should be in either the headphones, or possibly the cd drive itself? Or is this slight static just normal?

thanks.

markw
04-26-2010, 09:03 AM
I've been using the Porta-pros for several years now and never noticed any fuzziness. If it is your headpones, i'd say you either got a lemon or seriously overdrove them sometime in the past..

cgibsong002
04-26-2010, 09:05 AM
I've been using the Porta-pros for several years now and never noticed any fuzziness. If it is your headpones, i'd say you either got a lemon or seriously overdrove them sometime in the past..

nope, have only had these for a few months and am a generally quiet headphone listener. is this something that koss would replace? they come with the lifetime warranty..

poppachubby
04-26-2010, 10:09 AM
Are your settings all good and fine from your source? Sounds like perhaps you have a gain up too high, or some kind of effect used to colour things?

Porta Pro are highly regarded, possibly Koss' finest hour for cans. Check all of your audio related settings in the laptop and the program you are using.

cgibsong002
04-26-2010, 11:24 AM