budget system thoughts..orb, aperion, etc [Archive] - Audio & Video Forums

PDA

View Full Version : budget system thoughts..orb, aperion, etc

time2zone
03-25-2010, 05:07 AM
Hi everyone,

I am looking for a "budget system" for the living room (16 x 12) of a small apartment. Front speakers will be at one end of the 16ft dimensions.My goals are to have a decent (within budget) system to watch HD content and listen to music (maybe more on the music than the movies). Because of budget and room size I cant go too big, so I am looking for smallish speakers, but I think I can handle some bigger bookshelves for the front that I would be able to put on stands...but it will be a little awkward for the backs.

I am new to all of this, but I figured if I came up with a couple scenarios, I might get some more focused feedback. I am still open to all sorts of suggestions, and I dont mind being educated in the process.

Thanks!

Right now I am looking at these two setups (btw, they both allow me to do a 30 day trial).

Setup # 1 - $1,098.00
Orb Audio's People's Choice speaker system
* double Orbs (Mod2) for all front speakers and single Orbs (Mod1) for all rear speakers.
* Super Eight Custom Long Throw Subwoofer

Setup # 2 - $980
* Aperion Intimus 4B Satellite Speaker - $130.00ea
* Intimus 4C Center Channel Speaker - $160.00ea.
* Hsu Research - STF-1 Subwoofer - Regularly:$299.00

RECEIVER (these two are not shipping yet, but figured to future proof with the whole hdmi 1.4). I am open to other ideas that will work best with the speaker packages above and the source equipment being connected to them below.

Receiver # 1 - Onkyo TX-SR508 - $499.00 (if it ships soon)
Receiver # 2 - pioneer - VSX-820-K - $299 (if it ships soon)
* AS-BT100 Bluetooth Adapter - $99.00 (stream music from computer or iphone)

Sources to be connected:
* PS3 (for gaming, netflix, streaming of music/video content)
* Nintendo Wii